Coconut and Mango Eggless Cheesecake: Happy Birthday to Me!


Yesterday was my birthday (yay!) and for a week or so ahead of time I started thinking about what cake to prepare. After all, for a food and sweets lover as I am, there is no good birthday without cake.

The only thing I new for sure was that I wanted a cheesecake. They are easy to prepare and the taste remains fresh even after a few days in the fridge. I didn’t want the ordinary berries or chocolate type and luckily after a trip to my local grocery store I found that they had a tropical fruits event going on. They had everything from Rambutans to Dragon fruit, beautiful yellow Mangoes and whole Coconuts  (I also found Plantains!!).  I knew right away that my cheesecake should have the taste of the tropics, so I would be missing my homeland a little less and forget that I am living in polar cold Canada (Not so much this winter, though) for a little while on my birthday.  The combination of Mango and Coconut seemed natural, so I picked up some fresh mangoes and came back home excited about my cheesecake epiphany.

About my birthday, let me tell you, I had a very special one. I spent it at home with my better half, being spoiled and just grateful for having  love and health and for all things in my life as they are, for all of the things I can enjoy, including a delicious cake, made with my own hands. It was the best birthday I can remember.

Back to the cake, I adapted mine from this wonderful recipe, which I specially chose for being eggless and had tried before with great results, but I couldn’t help making some adjustments to my liking.

I like eggless baking for many reasons, even though I do eat eggs sporadically, but I believe the less animal products you consume is only better for yourself, for the environment and for the animals. With  less cholesterol it is healthier and, also, I like out-of-the-ordinary recipes.

The ricotta cheese really adds some extra texture to it, making this recipe even more special.

I encourage you to try a different version of cheesecake and I’m sure you will enjoy it as much or even more than the traditional.

Ingredients.

For the crust:

2 cups digestive biscuits, crushed.

¼ cup melted unsalted butter.

For the filling: 

500g ricotta cheese. (I used light)

500g (2 bricks) cream cheese. (I used light)

1 cup organic coconut cream.

1 cup organic granulated sugar.

¾ cups superfine sugar.

1 tbs. lemon juice.

2 tbs. corn starch

For the topping:

3 medium size ripe mangoes, peeled and chopped.

1 tbs. lemon juice

1 tbs. sugar

1 tbs. corn starch

¼ cup unsweetened shredded coconut for decorating.

Directions:

Grease the bottom and edges of a springform baking pan.

Set the oven to 355 °F.

Mix the melted butter and the crushed biscuits in a bowl using your hands to combine well. Press the mixture into the bottom of the greased pan and set aside.

In a big bowl (of at least 2 liters capacity) mix together all the ingredients of the filling using an electric mixer, until smooth and creamy. Do not over mix.

Pour the mixture over the reserved baking pan and bake in the preheated oven for 1 hour or until set and slightly golden on top.

Meanwhile, prepare the mango topping blending together the mangoes, lemon juice, sugar and corn starch. Take this mixture to a small saucepan and cook on the stove on low heat for about 7 minutes or until it has thickened. Do not overcook.

When ready, remove the cake from the oven. Spread the top with the mango mixture  and let cool to room temperature. Cover and refrigerate overnight.

Before removing the sides of the baking pan, sprinkle the top border with the shredded coconut.

Serve and enjoy!

10 thoughts on “Coconut and Mango Eggless Cheesecake: Happy Birthday to Me!

  1. What kind of mangoes did you use? I am partial to the yellow ( ataulfo sp?) ones but think the green/red ones are bigger.

  2. Hi! I’m wondering if you’ve ever tried a vegan version of this cheesecake? Do you know what I can use instead of Ricotta and Cream Cheese?
    Thanks so much! Looks amazing!

    • Sorry, I have not, but I’m guessing you could substitute the cheeses with firm silken tofu or you could make a cashew “cream cheese” by soaking 3 cups of raw cashews and adding as much shredded coconut as necessary in lieu of the cornstarch to help with consistency. If you decide to go for the cashew cream version, there’s no need to bake the cake, just freeze it for a few hours until set. Hope that helps. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

