Vegan Broccoli and Leek Tofu Quiche With a Whole Grain Crust


Lately I’ve been seeing a lot of Quiche recipes around the food blogosphere, which left me with big cravings for some, but, although I have always been a big Quiche lover, only after checking out some of those recipes I realized how extremely caloric it is and probably how unhealthy indulging in this treat could be. I never thought about it like that before, but being the case that most of the foods I prepare at home are destined to be eaten by just two people, I find it dangerous to prepare a whole quiche, which I would most certainly be unable to stop devouring until finished.

That was how I started thinking about how to make a healthy, guilt free version of quiche, and so the super versatile, perfect egg replacer tofu came to mind. I had tried tofu in cakes before, so I knew it could definitely work. I also immediately understood that if I was going to use tofu, I didn’t need to use cheese. And If I was not going to use cheese, I might as well use oil instead of all that butter that is usually required to make the crust. And just like that, a vegan quiche was born!

I chose to use some Leeks to add extra flavor to my quiche, which happens to be in season and I had available, after a trip at my local farmers market a couple days back.

I took some recipes I found here and there as guidelines, and went ahead to prepare the first version of my quiche. This first try turned out alright, but it needed some improvements.

The next time around I decided to add Broccoli and some extra spices and I also came up with the idea of making a whole grain crust instead of just whole wheat. This additions worked out wonderfully and finally I ended up with a perfectly vegan, yet tasty and visually attractive Quiche.

This Quiche is ideal for any meal of the day or as a lunch box, picnic or special occasions treat.

Vegan Broccoli and Leeks Tofu Quiche With a Whole Grain Crust

For the crust: 

¾ cup whole wheat pastry flour

¾ cup all purpose flour

3 Tbsp. Flax seeds

½ tsp. salt

¼ cup olive oil

½ cup ice cold water

For the filling:

1 lb. organic firm tofu (1 pack of 454 g.) (Silken tofu can be used as well), drained and cut in cubes.

¼ cup nutritional yeast (optional)

1/3 cup + 1 Tbs. organic soy milk

1 Tbsp. olive oil

1/8 tsp. turmeric

¼ tsp. ground cumin

1 medium head of broccoli, stems removed and cut into small florets (about 2 cups)

2 medium leeks (light green and white parts only) thoroughly washed and finely sliced

1 garlic clove, minced

½ tsp. salt

Method

To prepare the crust:

Grease a 10 inches tart or pie pan and set the oven to 375 F.

1. Mix the dry ingredients in a medium bowl.

2. In another bowl, whisk together the ice cold water and the olive oil, until the oil has thickened a bit.

3. Make a whole in the middle of the dry ingredients and add the oil and water mixture.

4. Mix with a fork first and then use your clean hands to combine well and form a smooth dough (no kneading is require).

5. Place the dough on your greased pan and expand it with your fingers to cover the bottom and the sides of the pan, like a pie crust.

6. Prick the crust allover with a fork and take it to the preheated oven, for 10 – 15 minutes. When done (We don’t need it to get brown or too set yet, since it is going to the oven again with the filling), set aside.

To prepare the filling:

Lower the oven temperature to 350 F.

1. Using a blender or a food processor, blend together the tofu, milk and nutritional yeast. Transfer to a big bowl and set aside.

2. In a big size pan or a wok, heat the oil on medium-low heat and add the garlic, cumin, the sliced leeks and the broccoli and saute for about 3 minutes.

3. Take this mixture to the bowl with the tofu, add the turmeric and the salt and combine well with a wooden spoon or spatula.

4. Place this mixture on top of the prebaked crust and distribute evenly, smoothing out the top with your spoon or spatula.

Take to the oven and bake for 40 -45 minutes.

Serve with sliced tomatoes or a salad.

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Vegan Broccoli and Leek Tofu Quiche With a Whole Grain Crust

Leave a Reply

